My first Challenge entry

I must admit to being a nervous blogger. It took me ages to pluck up the courage to start blogging and I am awaiting my first few visitors and their comments with apprehension – so you can understand that entering my first blog challenge is another BIG step.

I achieved the status of Spectrum Noir Accredited Colourist early this year (2013), and ever since I have been on the verge of entering their monthly challenge.

On seeing the May Challenge – “Colouring with Purples” – I felt it was a sign; simply because it’s my favourite colour!!

So, here goes!

Purple Colouring challenge card

I started with a (late lamented) Kanban stamp – from their Jasper set. This lovely burlesque / steampunk corset dress with top hat suited the rich, decadent look I had in mind.

Once I’d coloured this, I knew I had a gorgeous ‘Cadbury’s’ purple mirror board in a pack by Creata that was a perfect match for the  Spectrum Noir colours I had used :

Corset dress & hat:         LV1, LV2, LV3, PL4, PL5, True Black & Blender

Shadow outline:              BGR1

I wanted more of this mirror board to show than with normal matting and layering, so I used the largest die in the Spellbinders 5×7 Enchanted Labels 28 set (S6-003) which gave the stamped and coloured image ‘room to breath’, but also had open corner details to allow the rich purple mirror card to shine through.

Now comes a confession – the die was large enough to ‘catch’ some colour swatches I’d scribbled to the side of the image whist I was colouring…..DOH!!

So now I needed something to cover the top right hand corner of the die cut image – not the normal place for a ‘hide-all’ bow or other embellishment – or I would have to colour another image from scratch.

Whilst I was scouring my craft room (and the rest of the house) for inspiration I came across some crumpled purple tissue paper in our gift wrapping drawer – Aha!

I knew I also had some white tissue paper that I had bought for transferring images onto candles, and that it was in my craft room…….somewhere!

After hours of searching I found said tissue paper and, using Spellbinders die Blossom (S4-192), cut the three smallest sizes of flower from folded tissue paper. I then ran Spectrum Noir pen LV3 around the edge of the white tissue flowers and layered differing numbers of sheets of the purple & white tissue flowers, the larger blooms have all three sizes and the smaller blooms just the two smaller size of flower.

Once I had the layers roughly centred on a spongy mat I pushed a pokey tool through the layers to punch a hole, then fixed the layers together with a small brad. I then ‘scrunched’ each layer of tissue starting at the centre of the flower; once all layers had been done the flower was teased open to give a natural look.

Close up of flower and pins

I made the stick pins using long head pins (jewellery findings) with Swarovski bicone crystals, glass faux pearls and faceted glass beads in the same colour range.

The lilac matte is Adorable Scorable from Hunkydory and the edge of the base card is inked with Spectrum Noir pen LV3.

Fingers crossed!

This entry was posted in Alcohol Pens, Cards, Spellbinders. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My first Challenge entry

  1. JEANY BROOKES says:

    DEBORAH THIS IS SOO LOVELY WHY OH WHY HAVE YOU BEEN HOLDING BACK YOU ARE BRILL, WELL DONE & THANKYOU, JEANY xx

  2. Odette says:

    I just love the flowers, and the colour is perfect. Looking forward to seeing more. Best wishes, Odette

  3. Patricia Cruz says:

    This a beautiful card you are very talented. Keep up the good work.
    Wish I had the guts to post something like that with a challenge definitely a goal of mine.

  4. LBCrafts says:

    This is wonderful. You are amazing with those markers 🙂

  5. Jill G says:

    I love the idea of hiding your scribbles and can so relate to taking hours to find something just right. Also your description of the purple colour as ‘Cadbury’s’ made me smile :). This card is great – the tissue flowers match perfectly. I also love the way you share what you used and WHY!

  6. Taylor says:

    This is gorgeous! Thanks so much for playing along with our Spectrum Noir challenge!

  7. Summer hills-painter says:

    Wonderful work! I love how you have created you own flowers and colored them to match your card. Oh, and your stick pins are beautiful! Thanks for playing with us in the Spectrum Noir challenge. Summer Hills- Painter DT

  8. Heidi Watts says:

    Gorgeous card, I haven’t yet mastered the art of alcohol based markers even though I have some. I too am a lover of all things purple and have started a blog myself only a month ago. You’re comment about wanting to ‘try it all’ really struck a chord with me as my style is very eclectic. I like to make what pleases me at the time whether it be contemporary, vintage, funky, grungy, you get the picture. Welcome to blogland and many happy crafty times ahead 🙂

    • debsdudman says:

      Heidi, thank you so much for your lovely comments. It’s great to come across someone else who doesn’t want to be pidgeon-holed! I wish you success with your blog – although from what I saw during my visit a couple of minutes ago, I think you are well on your way to having a successful blog already! Here’s to crafty variety. 😉

Leave a Reply

