Autumn Gold journal

It is a great time to be a crafter – so many exciting tools and materials to create with; it really does feel as though the only limit is your imagination.

A magazine free gift gave me the starting point for my autumn leaves journal cover – this was a ‘Craft Foil’ starter kit  containing a small plastic block with shapes for embossing the foil and a small sheet about 2” x 4” (5cm x 10cm) of craft foil which was like baking foil but thicker – typically I had bigger ideas!

I took the piece of foil straight to my local craft shop and asked if they “could get me anything like this?” (waggling my 2″ x 4″ – foil that is); like it, but in larger sheets and, oh yes, preferably coloured – what moi?…….a demanding customer?

Within days I received Woodware Mercart aluminium sheets in a variety of colours – the sheets are approximately 9” x 12” (23cm x 35cm).

I used the Spellbinders Grand Impressabilities template – Fall Splendour, (GI-001) on half of the Yellow Mercart sheet giving me the basis for my autumn themed cover.

I used extra-strong double-sided tape (the one with the red peel off strip) and stuck the embossed foil to the front cover of an A5 spiral-bound notebook, then folded the overlapping foil to the inside, so ensuring no sharp edges were likely to cause injury.

For a few days the cover remained in that state while I decided how to embellish it further without making the journal difficult to write in. It is amazing how tactile the cover was – I kept stroking the embossed foil – sounds really silly, but it felt soft!

Autumn Gold journal

I wanted to continue the tumbling autumn leaves theme through to the embellishment, so I used Spellbinders Shapeabilities – Fall Foliage (S5-120) and Little Leaf Sets (S4-385) to cut and emboss a variety of leaves in silver, orange gold and russet red foils (the silver leaves are actually old Pepsi cans). I used Pinflair Glue Gel to attach these to the front of the journal in a wind-tossed pattern which gave slight dimension to the cover, but also meant that the cover can be placed flat for writing without damaging the embellishments.

I have given this journal / notebook to close friend, but the great thing is I have the other half of the yellow Mercart foil sheet to make another one for myself!

This entry was posted in Miscellany, Spellbinders. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

