Challenging Summer

I have definitely been bitten by the challenge bug!

The theme of the Spectrum Noir challenge for June is Summer (and it looks as though the challenge for the UK summer is whether it can last for more than 5 days!)

The challenge states “Create any card or project …..”, so I decided that my entry was going to be a project!

As my starting point I used one of Michael Powell’s gorgeous stamps – Coastal Getaway.

I wanted to make the picture look as though it was a faded memory of childhood summer holidays in the sun and very much used the artwork with the stamp as a basis for my colour palette.

Wish I Were Here

The Spectrum Noir pens used are:

 Blues –TB1, TB2, TB3, TB5 and IB1

Reds – CR8

Yellows/Greens – DG1, DG2, CT1, CT2 and LG1

Others – EB1, EB2, FS8, FS9 and HB1

and, of course, the Blender.

Now, CR8 and TB5 are pretty strong colours and would have totally overwhelmed the other pastel shades – so I used a technique with the blender pen (not sure if it has a name) whereby touching the blender pen nib to the nib of the colour wanted then working with the blender on the image has the effect of laying down a more translucent version of the colour and reducing its intensity.

Another use of the blender was in the sky – I wanted to control exactly where the colour went and also to have a very subtle finish. Working across the sky in small areas firstly using the blender to ‘soak’ the card, then using the same ‘touch’ technique as earlier to take the pale blue onto the card in a more translucent form.

The frame was a purchase from Wilkinson’s some months ago and is approximately 10” x 4” (25 x 10 cm).

I printed the phrase (this is grammatically correct, although looks a bit weird!) and mounted the coloured image behind an aperture with foam pads, then added a Screw Shell to the front of the glass using Pinflair Glue Gel.

Childhood summer memories fading in the mists of time.

This entry was posted in Alcohol Pens, Miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Challenging Summer

  1. JEANY BROOKES says:

    very nicely done Deborah WELL DONE

  2. Ben says:

    Lovely project Deborah. Love the subtlety of the colouring. All too often it is easy to overdo the colours but you have given the picture a watercolour effect which works really well. All we need now is a good summer to compliment the picture!

  3. judith says:

    This looks very good. How long did it take to complete?

    • debsdudman says:

      Thanks Judith. This probably took me about 3-4 hours overall; it is the ‘thinking’ time that is the huge variable in my projects – once I have EVENTUALLY decided what I am going to do, found everything I need and changed my mind a few times, the actual doing is relatively quick! 🙂

  4. Melissa T. says:

    This is a great piece of art, love it. Thank you for sharing the technique with the blender pen, I am thinking I need to try that. 🙂

  5. linda hill says:

    i just love the effect you have done here super
    thank you for taking the time to share and by joining the challenge
    hugs linda xxx

Leave a Reply

