Christmas gets earlier every year!

I promised myself that I would not turn into a blogger who blogs purely to enter challenges – yet here I am with an unprecedented Wednesday post as tomorrow is the deadline for a challenge I want to contribute to.

I also promised myself, that I would not enter huge lists of challenges with a single post – yet, you will see this post is for three challenges (at least it’s not a HUGE list).

However, I have kept my promise to myself that I am entering challenges that mean something to me – either because I use and love the product (as is the case with IndigoBlu) or that the subject matter is close to my heart ……. I can honestly say that I LOVE CHRISTMAS.

This card started with the IndigoBlu stamp – Seasons Greetings; this is an A6 sheet of “a collection of seasonal greetings in stunning fonts to enhance your beautiful card creations and albums”. However, one of the great things about craft is that there is no right or wrong way to use things – only “what if I use it this way?”.

The theme for the IndigoBlu challenge is ‘Backgrounds Galore’ – so ‘what if’ the uncut stamp is used as a background.

Vintage Christmas Card

Using VersaMark watermark ink and WOW Opaque Bright White super fine embossing powder on a piece of coated white card gave a lovely crisp modern look to the background (a look I might use in the future), then Festive Berries Distress Ink was applied and the embossed words buffed to remove excess ink. This gave a red that was rather scarlet compared with the others in the card, so a very light-handed layer of Vintage Photo Distress Ink was applied on top to tone it down.

The gorgeous backing paper – Love, Dream, Joy, Hope etc. – is printed from the Papermania Christmas Past CD set (CD 3) and is a backing paper designed by Tina Higgins (Silent Night).

The vintage topper is from a set of postcards by Dover of Vintage Christmas Card Children I bought when in New England in 1997 – it looks as if this set is now out of print, but Dover do a book with CD-rom called Vintage Christmas Cards with similar if not the same designs.

Matted behind the vintage topper and the IndigoBlu stamped greetings is green mirror board, and rhinestones are used to give the snowflakes a little sparkle.

The finished card is roughly 8” x 8” (20.25cm x 20.25cm), and is entered in the following challenges:

IndigoBlu Challenge 4 – Backgrounds Galore

Christmas Cards All Year Round  Challenge – Vintage Christmas

Christmas Stampin’ All Year Long Challenge – Merry Christmas (Heat Embossing, Rhinestone & Distressing Ink)

This entry was posted in Cards, Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas gets earlier every year!

  1. This is gorgeous!! What a great idea to leave the set uncut and use it as a background stamp! It looks amazing and I would have thought it was patterned paper if you hadn’t told how you did it! Thanks for playing with CSAYL.

  2. Pat(mspfd) says:

    Beautiful card. Love the vintage look. Thanks for joining us for CSAYL20.

  3. Jo. Rice says:

    Great idea for a background and it works really well. Thank you for joining us over at the IndigoBlu Forever 21 Challenge Blog. Good luck Jo. X

  4. Wow wow such a clever idea with stunning results, gorgeous 🙂 Kezzy xxx

  5. Linda W says:

    Great idea using the uncut stamp for your background, it looks fab. Thanks for joining in with the Forever 21 challenge …… Good luck! xx

  6. fabiola says:

    so happy you play with us at CSAYL Deborah, your card is so lovely with a nice touche of vintage feeling, hope to see you next time, biz

Leave a Reply

