A Birthday Card For A Man

It is a truth universally acknowledged (apologies to Miss J Austen) that it is very difficult to make a card for a man.

Not sure why this should be – maybe it is because one can’t use cute images or beautiful flowers or gorgeous bows – but it definitely seems to be the case.

I needed to make a special birthday card for a male family member and found that Steampunk gave me an alternative to images of pints of beer or fishing tackle.

I used a stamp from the Kanban Jasper set (I previously used a stamp from this set on a card in ‘My First Challenge Entry‘) the image shows a gentleman’s outfit with frock coat and top hat on a mannequin.

The image was stamped onto white card using Vintage Photo Distress Ink then, before the ink could dry completely, a water brush was used to pull ink from the stamped image to colour and shade the image.

Once the image was completely dry the largest die from the Spellbinders ‘5 x 7 Enchanted Labels 28’ set was used to form a frame for the image – this was achieved by cutting, embossing and then inking through the die, again with Vintage Photo Distress Ink.

A Man's Birthday Card

A matte of a coordinating mirror board in a deep chocolaty (Mmmm – chocolate!) colour was added, complementing and enhancing the Vintage Photo ink. The ‘screw heads’ were made using Cosmic Shimmer Dark Bronze Pearl PVA glue to make 4 faux pearls, then pressing a screw-driver into the pearls when they were almost dry – it does take a while for the ‘pearls’ to dry, so experiment with this; I created my ‘pearls’ on a small piece of acetate and once happy that my screw heads were fully dry, carefully removed them from the acetate and stuck them to the image to enhance the steampunk feel.

Man's Card Close Up

A stepper card blank was covered with a steampunk influenced patterned paper in a similar colourway from a Kanban Paper Pad (Alchemy I think) and the matted image was mounted at an angle with a Vintage Photo distressed greeting to one side. The card step was held in place by a matted strip made from the chocolate mirror board and Kanban paper.

This entry was posted in Cards. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Birthday Card For A Man

  1. Love the intro to this post. Really witty (I wish I’d thought of it!!) and so true. The card is fabulous too. A very striking and inspiring creation.

  2. AnneE says:

    Great card Deborah – really unusual – but I really like it!

  3. Tina Eldridge says:

    Hi Deborah
    Again I have to say it was lovely to meet you on Monday at Sarah’s Stamp Shack.

    I love the man cards, I find them are sooo difficult to do, as you found out today my cards are more girly. I love your clocks on your earlier blogs, they’re fantastic.

    Have a good week, I’ll be back.
    Big Hugs
    Tina XX

    • Handmade By Deborah says:

      Tina – thank you for your lovely comment and for your visit. Hope to see you again at Sarah’s in the not too distant future.

      • Tina Eldridge says:

        Hi Deborah

        Next time you visit, I’ll ask if I can come and have a coffee and have a chat about crafty stuff.
        Take Care
        TinaXX

  4. Handmade By Deborah says:

    😀 sounds good Tina

Leave a Reply

