Tattered Lace Essentials Book Die – Part One

I am so excited with the direction that some of the die designers are moving, it really is a great time to be a crafter!

For example – the lovely Tattered Lace Essentials Book Die set (ETL23).

Tattered Lace Book Die

As can be seen from the above picture – the set is crammed with dies (18 in total) and has 6 ‘large’ book dies, 6 ‘mini’ book dies, 2 book marks, 2 book clips, a page tab die and a banner die.

For this card, based on a demonstration by Nancy Watt when the dies were launched in June, I used a fraction of the available dies in the set – the 4 smaller dies in the ‘large’ book set of 6.

As in previous descriptions on my blog – I will number the dies to help in the description; so if you look at the 6 ‘large’ book dies and number them with 1 being the smallest and 6 the largest, I used 1 – 4.

Using 4, I cut a piece of Adorable Scorable from my stash (I think the colour is ‘Mulled Wine’, but I can’t guarantee that).

3 was used to cut a lovely deep gold mirror card from my stash and 2 a piece of Christmas themed paper from a paper pad in my stash (K&Company SW Glad Tidings).

2 was used to cut three pieces of vellum which had been embossed using the TL Script Embossing Folder (EF062).

I also used 2 to cut another sheet of vellum on which had been printed the words to the carol ‘O Little Town of Bethlehem’ – one of my favourites – from the Click, Print, Go! Essentials Book Christmas Carols & Sentiments CD chosen to link with the Hunkydory topper from a Christmas card kit from a few years ago (apologies, I do not know the exact name of the set – but you probably can’t get it now anyway).

Christmas Carol Book Card

Now a confession ….. as so ably noted by my Husband and Ben (whom some of you will know) ……. on close inspection it can be seen that on the embossed vellum pages the script is upside down – I had cut the book the wrong way up!!

Of course the Adorable Scorable, mirror card and (luckily) the holly patterned paper do not show that they have been turned through 180o, but being a frugal crafter I was not going to waste four sheets of vellum. So the three embossed sheets were turned around, and the printed sheet was cut down to half a page and reshaped using die 1 in the ‘large’ book set – disaster averted, but not got away with (thanks hubby & Ben!).

The Adorable Scorable, mirror card and patterned paper were fixed together using Cosmic Shimmer glue just along the fold in the ‘centre of the book’ – the three embossed sheets of vellum were ‘aged’ using Tea Dye Distress Ink, then stuck in the same way at the fold, but also at the edges and shaped to give them the look of being part of a ‘full’ book.

The re-worked carol was also aged using the Distress Ink then stuck onto the right-hand embossed vellum page, whilst the topper suggesting the town of Bethlehem (to me anyway) was adhered to the opposite ‘page’. The burgundy and cream cord down the fold of the book came from the tag from a piece of clothing I bought some time ago – if you are like me you keep these and the ribbon from the ‘hanging loops’ inside clothes.

The embellishments on the corners of the mirror card are three sizes of self-adhesive pearls in either white or cream all coloured with a Letraset Metallic Marker in Red Gold.

Finally the greeting is cut from the same deep gold mirror card using a Die’sire Essentials Only Words Die – Season’s Greetings and this is on a tag cut from the Adorable Scorable using a die from the Spellbinders Fancy Framed Tags Four die set as I felt its shape particularly echoed the design in the topper.

This card looks lovely when resting upright on the Tattered Lace Card Stand (which I cut from some fairly sturdy card from some packaging – something else I keep!!) and even won me a ‘First’ at my local village show.

Carol Book Card on Stand

Items used:

Tattered Lace Essentials Book Die set (ETL23)

Tattered Lace Card Stand (D347)

Tattered Lace Script Embossing Folder (EF062)

My Craft Studio Click, Print, Go! – Essentials Book Christmas Carols & Sentiments CD

Die’sire Essentials Only Words Die – Season’s Greetings (DS-E-W-83)

Spellbinders Fancy Framed Tags Four (S4-530)

Letraset Metallic Marker – Red Gold

Adorable Scorable – possibly Mulled Wine

Deep Gold Mirror Card – from stash

Vellum – from stash

Distress Ink – Tea Dye

Self-adhesive pearls – three sizes from stash

Hunkydory christmas topper – from stash

Cord scraps – from stash

Cosmic Shimmer Glue

Scrap packaging cardboard – from stash

This entry was posted in Cards, Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tattered Lace Essentials Book Die – Part One

  1. Nicole says:

    Wow – that looks amazing …. and until pointed out I didn’t even notice that theh script was upside down! Hope my Christmas card will be as lovingly put together!

  2. Judith says:

    Lovely work as always. So clever

  3. Patricia Evans says:

    Hi there , now I must admit that when I first saw this die I thought , it’s that book of tricks die that everyone is mad about except me lol , but then I saw these samples of yours and their fab I really really like them and think I might have to spend more money and buy the die set ,,well done to you for making a boring card look beautiful xx

  4. Nana Rose says:

    Reminds me of the ornate bibles you see in Eastern Orthodox churches. Very “iconic”. Beautiful. You refer to it as a “card” but it is so much more than that. Definitely a “keepsake” to treasure. Thank you for sharing this with us.
    Rose xx

    • Handmade By Deborah says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words Nana Rose – it is so nice (and sometimes very surprising) when something turns out to be close to the picture I had in my head 🙂

Leave a Reply

