Creative Expressions MDF Heart Plaque

I have been playing with some of the wonderful Creative Expressions MDF pieces and thought you might like to see the results.

The Heart was used for this first project – it measures approximately 5 ½ ” (14cm) high, 5 1/8 ” (13cm) wide and is almost 3/16” (4mm) thick.

I decided to start simply, so covered the heart with cream card (I think this is Foundations ‘Sand’ coloured card). Once the glue was dry the edges were sanded to ensure the card was flush to the edge and to gently break the card fibres down.

The sentiment (from Visible Image) was stamped directly onto the card using Adirondack Earthtones ink in Espresso – I felt this coordinated better with the aged look I was going for rather than black ink.

The edges of the card were then ‘shabbied’ (I think I’m making words up again) or ‘aged’ using Frayed Burlap Distress Ink.

A piece of cotton crochet lace was stuck across one corner then layered with a raffia bow and a small flower, a cluster of three flowers adorn the other side and three self-adhesive pearls complete the embellishment.

A further piece of raffia was used to provide the means to hang this small wall plaque.

MDF Heart

I look forward to sharing the results of more of my MDF experiments with you – and some of those just might include the new Christmas shapes just released by Creative Expressions and Phill Martin’s wonderful Staged Sentiments …… watch this space!!

 

Items used:

Creative Expressions MDF Heart (comes in a pack of 6)

Foundations cardstock (Sand – I think)

Distress Ink – Frayed Burlap

Adirondack Earthtones Espresso dye-based ink

Visible Image stamp – ‘create with your soul’

Cotton crochet lace – from my stash

Raffia – from my stash

Petaloo flowers

Self-adhesive pearls – from my stash

This entry was posted in Home Decor. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creative Expressions MDF Heart Plaque

  1. Sandra carey says:

    Oh my how beautiful Deborah hugs Sandra xx

    • Handmade By Deborah says:

      Sandra – thank you for your lovely comment. This means so much, especially knowing the gorgeous things you create 🙂

  2. Nana Rose says:

    Lovely project Deborah. I haven’t used Creative Expressions MDF shapes before and was wondering what the quality was like as some MDF can be rather thin and rough.
    Rose x

    • Handmade By Deborah says:

      Oooh Nana Rose – you will love Creative Expressions’ MDF shapes. They are 4mm thick and are wonderfully smooth – in fact I normally leave the edges as they are when I am decorating these shapes and have never had to sand any roughness away, even between coats of ‘wet’ product. You can ‘prime’ them with Gesso or a watered-down emulsion, but I have used Creative Expressions Chalk Paint directly on them and not needed a second coat.

      Gorgeous designs which come in a variety of sizes (all in the superb 4mm MDF), great quality and super value – you can’t go wrong 😉

      Thank you for visiting my blog and do keep an eye out for one of the gorgeous Christmas bauble shapes from Creative Expressions I will be posting in a few days time 🙂

Leave a Reply

