Sue Wilson Festive Collection – Christmas Joy Wreath Die set

This die set makes a lovely CAS (clean and simple) Christmas card – however I wanted to do something a little different with it (as is my wont), so I used it to make a Christmas decoration.

The Creative Expressions MDF Ornate Bauble is available in three sizes – here I have used the largest which is approximately 6 1/4” x 4 ¾” (12cm x 16cm).

Firstly I covered one side in Gold Pinflair Buff-It – well I say firstly ……. I had not used my Gold Buff-It for a long time and when I opened the pot *DISASTER* – the product inside was solid!!!

Being a stingy frugal crafter, I contacted Pinflair through their Facebook page to ask if there was any way I could ‘rejuvinate’ the product. The wonderful Antony messaged me back with a remedy – add a little warm water and leave for a couple of days – which I am thrilled to say made my Buff-It usable again!

So you have Antony to thank or to blame for the completion of this project, depending on what you think of the result!

OK – firstly I covered one side of the MDF bauble in Gold Pinflair Buff-It.

I cut the ‘J’ and the ‘Y’ in a deep Christmassy red holographic card and the solid wreath in a dark green Centura Pearl. The open wreath was cut in a pale green glitter card and overlaid on the solid wreath to make it look as though the leaves have frosted edges.

The holly berries on the wreath are suggested by some ‘blobs’ of Cosmic Shimmer Coloured Pearlescent PVA in Berry Red.

The three elements of ‘JOY’ were then arranged informally on the bauble.

The large holly leaves are from Sue Wilson’s Festive Collection – Filigree Holly die set and Creative Expressions Finishing Touches Satin Ribbon in Scarlet provides the bow and the hanging loop.

My finishing touches were supplied by some orange-gold gems and red flowers from my stash.

Ornate Bauble Front

The silver top to the bauble (to suggest those on actual Christmas tree baubles) was created using a Letraset Silver Metallic Marker and the reverse of the bauble is covered with a coordinating tartan paper from my stash.

Ornate Bauble Back

 

Items used:

Craft Dies by Sue Wilson

Festive Collection – Christmas Joy Wreath (CED3030)

Festive Collection – Filigree Holly (CED3045)

Creative Expressions MDF Ornate Bauble pk 4 (CEMDFORNATE160)

Creative Expressions Finishing Touches 6m Satin Ribbon – Scarlet (CESRSCARLET)

Cosmic Shimmer Coloured Pearlescent PVA – Berry Red

Pinflair Buff-It – Gold

Letraset Metallic Marker – Silver

Orange-Gold self-adhesive gems – from my stash

Red flowers – from my stash

Red/green/gold tartan paper – from my stash

This entry was posted in Christmas, Home Decor. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sue Wilson Festive Collection – Christmas Joy Wreath Die set

  1. Nana Rose says:

    This would make a lovely little project to do with my grandchildren when they come to stay. It is so nice to make something that will be in use for years to come. Thank you for your inspiration Deborah.
    Hugs
    Rose

    • Handmade By Deborah says:

      Thank you Nana Rose – it would be lovely to see pictures if you do have a crafty session with your grandchildren. Get them to make 2 each – one for you to put up and one for them at home 🙂

Leave a Reply

