Sue Wilson Craft Dies – Frames & Tags – Heraldic Square

Those of you who follow my blog will know that I love Christmas (I can hear you ‘Bah Humbugging’ from here) – I also love the Heraldic Square die from Sue Wilson’s most recent 2015 release; so what better than to combine two things I love to make two projects.

The set contains three dies – I will refer to these as the outer, middle and inner dies. For the first project a solid square was cut from copper mirror card using the outer die on its own, then a second, open square from white cardstock was cut using the outer die and the inner die.

These two squares were then layered with the white, open square on top and rotated by 45o, to make a star.

The stepper card base was cut from the same white cardstock using the Tattered Lace Central Stepper Card die with the matt & layer panels on each side also using dies from this set.

The stars on the side panels are cut using three dies from the Sue Wilson Festive Collection 2015 Angel and the “Season’s Greetings” words are produced with dies from the Tattered Lace Snowglobe die set.

Final touches are supplied by some gold circle Dazzlers and AB rhinestones.

Card

I must admit I liked the star created by the Heraldic Square SO much that I decided to use a similar design for the next project.

This time two sets of three layers were cut – four solid squares using the outer die only, two from white cardstock and two from pale green glitter card, then two small open squares cut from the same white card using the middle and inner dies from the set.

StarPieces

Two stars were ‘built’ – firstly the white sold square, foam pads were then used to attach the green solid square rotated 45o and lastly the small white open square which is flat layered onto the green glitter card.

These layered stars were the stuck back to back, sandwiching a piece of silver cord for a hanging loop. Final touches to the piece are provided by some small metallic silver ‘pearls’.

Star

I am looking forward to making a number of these hanging stars in my Christmas colours – the glitter card sparkles beautifully as the ornament moves, giving the star an ‘inner light’.

 

Items used:

Craft Dies by Sue Wilson

Frames and Tags – Heraldic Square (CED4306)

Festive Collection – 2015 Christmas Angel (CED3016)

Creative Expressions Finishing Touches Dazzlers – Circles – Gold Collection (DAZMIXGOLD)

Tattered Lace – Centre Stepper Card die

Tattered Lace – Snowglobe die

AB rhinestones – from my stash

Metallic ‘pearls’ – from my stash

Copper mirror card – from my stash

Pale green glitter card – from my stash

White card – from my stash

This entry was posted in Cards, Christmas, Home Decor. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sue Wilson Craft Dies – Frames & Tags – Heraldic Square

  1. Nana Rose says:

    Wow. Both projects are stunning but the hanging snowflake ornament is my favourite. Hope you can show us more of them in different colours as they are so beautiful.
    Crafty hugs
    Rose

    • Handmade By Deborah says:

      Many thanks Rose, I will post pictures of the star ornaments I make – hopefully with them hanging on our Christmas tree

      • Nana Rose says:

        Thank you Deborah. Sorry to call your star a snowflake. Perhaps it should be called a starflake. I look forward to seeing your tree with lots of them hanging on it.
        Rose x

      • Handmade By Deborah says:

        Hehehe Rose – I am just pedantic – snowflakes have 6 points (or multiples of 6)

  2. Lovely projects! Will be following your blog 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

